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This document contains frequently asked questions, rule
clarifications, and errata for Star Wars: Armada.

All changes and additions made to this document since the
previous version are marked in red.

ERRATA

CARDS

Most WANTED

The special rule for the “Most Wanted” objective card should read:

“While a ship is attacking an objective ship, it may add 1 die of
any color that is already in its attack pool to its attack pool.”

LEARN TO PLAY

FLeeT-BuiLoing ResTRICTIONS, P.22

This section should include the following bullet point:

“A ship cannot equip more than one copy of the same upgrade
card.”

RULES REFERENCE

ATTACK, P.2

The second sentence of step 6, “Declare Additional Squadron
Target,” should read:

“The new defender must be inside the firing arc and at attack
range of the same attacking hull zone, and the attacker must
measure line of sight to it as normal.”

ATTACK, P.2

Step 6, “Declare Additional Squadron Target,” should include
the following bullet point:

“Treat each repetition of steps 2 through 6 as a new attack for
the purposes of resolving card effects.”

Commanos, p.4

This entry should include the following bullet point:

“A ship can resolve a command and choose not to produce its
effect. It still counts as resolving that command, such as for the
purpose of triggering upgrade cards.”

The CR90 Corvette’s front hull zone attempts to attack
the Victory’s rear hull zone. The Rebel player must
measure range to the closest point of the Victory’s rear
hull zone that is within the attacking firing arc. This
measurement passes through the Victory’s left hull
zone, so the CR-90’s front hull zone does not have
line of sight on the Victory’s rear hull zone.

RE= N T S o — S

FLeer BuiLoing, p.b

This entry should include the following bullet point:

“A ship cannot equip more than one copy of the same upgrade
card.”

LiNe oF SiGHT, P.7

The fourth bullet point of this entry should read:

“If line of sight or attack range is traced through a hull zone on
the defender that is not the defending zone, the attacker does
not have line of sight and must choose another target.”

MeasuriNG FIRING ARC AND RANGE, P.7

This entry should include the following paragraph:

“When measuring attack range for a ship, ignore any portion of
the defender that is outside the attacking hull zone’s firing arc,
even if that portion is at a closer range.”

MeasuriNG FIRING ARC AND RANGE, P.7
This entry should include the following paragraph:

“If attack range is measured through a hull zone on the defender
that is not the defending hull zone, the attacker does not have
line of sight and must choose another target.”



OveRLAPPING, P.8

The last sentence of the first paragraph should read:

“He can place those squadrons in any order, but he cannot
place them outside the play area.”

Size Ciass, p.11

The size of a small ship should read “43mm x 71Tmm.” The size
of a medium ship should read “63mm x 102mm.” The size of a
large ship should read “77.5mm x 129mm.”

FAQ_

This section answers frequently asked questions about Star Wars:
Armada.

SETUP AND FLEET-BUILDING

Q: During fleet-building, how many fleet points can a player
spend on squadrons?

A: A player can spend up to one third of the fleet point total,
rounded up. For example, if playing a 200-point game, a fleet
could contain 67 points of squadrons, even if the total cost of
that fleet was only 190.

Q: During the “Place Obstacles” step of setup, can the players
place any combination of six obstacles?

A: No. The players place three asteroid fields, two debris fields,
and one station.

Q: During the “Deploy Ships” step of setup, can a player set his
ship’s speed to “0”?

A: No.

ATTACKS

Q: When a ship resolves an ability that allows it to add dice
to the attack pool, can it add those dice if their color is not
normally appropriate for the range of the attack?

A: Yes. The range restriction on dice color applies only when
dice are gathered during the “Roll Attack Dice” step of an
attack.

Q: If a ship’s attack would not include any dice, but the ship
can add dice through a card effect, can it perform the
attack?

A: No. If a ship does not gather any dice during the “Roll Attack
Dice” step of an attack, the attack is canceled.

Q: Can a ship spend a defense token even if it would have no
effect?

A: Yes. For example, a ship can spend a ¥ token and choose an
adjacent hull zone with no shields remaining.

Q: When measuring line of sight, do the attacker’s hull zones
block line of sight?

A: No.
Q: Can a ship attack an engaged squadron?

A: Yes.

COMMANDS =

Q: When a ship spends a command dial and token of the same
type, does that count as one resolution of that command?

A: Yes.

Q: If a ship wants to spend a command dial and token of the
same type, does it have to spend them simultaneously?

A: Yes. It must already have both the dial and token, and must
spend them together.

Q: Can a ship spend its command dial to gain a command
token of the same type at any point during its activation?

A: No. It can only do this when it reveals its command dial.

Q: If a ship spends its command dial to gain a command token
of the same type, can it spend that token later in that round?

A: Yes. wallll

Q: If a ship has a @ dial and a @ token, can it spend those
tokens against different targets during the same round?

A: No. A ship cannot resolve each command more than once
each round.

Q: If a ship spends a @ dial and a @ token together, can it
reroll the die that it adds? Is it required to reroll a die?

A: It can reroll the die that it adds, and it can choose not to
reroll any dice.



MOVEMENT

Q: When a ship executes a maneuver, does it move along the
maneuver tool?

A: No. The ship is picked up from its starting position and placed
in its final position. It ignores any obstacles, ships, and
squadrons that its base does not overlap in its final position.

Q: When a ship executes a maneuver, is it destroyed if part of
the maneuver tool is outside the play area but the ship itself
is entirely inside the play area?

A: No.

Q: When a ship overlaps more than one ship, how does a
player determine which of those ships is closest?

A: The player measures range to the overlapped ship that
appears to be closer and temporarily marks that measurement
(such as by holding his thumbnail where the ruler reaches the
overlapped ship). Retaining that measurement, he measures
range to the other overlapped ship. If the second range
measurement is beyond the marked measurement, the first
ship is closer; otherwise, the second ship is closer.

SQUADRONS

Q: When a squadron activates, is it required to move and/or
attack?

A: No. A squadron can activate and end its activation without
moving and/or attacking.

Q: During setup, can a squadron be placed outside the setup
area as long as it is within distance 1-2 of a friendly ship?

A: No. It may be placed outside of the deployment zone, but not
outside the setup area.

Q: When a squadron with counter performs its counTer attack,
can it resolve abilities that affect an attack?

A: Yes. A counTer attack functions just like a normal attack
except that the dice gathered for the attack are indicated by
the squadron’s counTer value instead of its anti-squadron
armament. They can be affected by the swarm keyword,
Howlrunner’s ability, etc.

Q: How does the squadron keyword Bomser work?

A: When a squadron with bomber attacks a ship, it can resolve
the standard critical effect before totaling damage if it has at
least one 3% result. To determine the total damage of an attack
against a ship, it sums the number of # and 3% results instead
of only the # results.



CARD CLARIFICATIONS

This section clarifies individual cards and explains various
card interactions.

OBJECTIVE CARDS

PYTERH

| FIRe LaNES

SETUP: After placing obstacles, the second
player places 3 objective tokens in the setup
area beyond distance 4 of both players’
edges. Then the first player may move each
objective token to within distance 1-2 of its
current position.

ENp oF Rounb: Each player gains 1 victory
token for each objective token he controls.
To determine control of each token, players
measure attack range and line of sight

b from each of their ships’ hull zones as if

performing attacks with battery armament
mr%'el'mg that objective token. The player
witl

combined attack pools controls that token.
If a player’s ship or squadron overlaps an
objective token, his opponent controls that
token; if both players’ ships or squadrons
overlap the same token, neither player
controls it.

FLeer AmMBUSH |

SETUP: The portion of the setup area that
is beyond distance 5 of any edge of the
setup area is the AMBUSH zoNE. Players mark
the corners of the ambush zone with
objective tokens.

Players take turns deploying fleets as
normal, but must deploy all ships before
deploying any squadrons. The first player
must deploy ships within the ambusl|
zone on his odd-numbered deployment

| turns, starting with his first turn. He cannot

deploy ships or squadrons overlapping
obstacles in the ambush zone. After setup
is complete, he removes all objective
tokens from the play area.

| Hyrerseace AssauLt |

SETUP: Before deploying fleets, the second
player sets aside 1 of his small or medium
ships and up to 3 of his squadrons; he does
not deploy them during setup. Then he
laces 3 objective tokens in the play area
Beyond distance 3 of both players' edges.

SpeciaL RULE: At the start of any round
after the first round, the second player can
deploy the ship and squadrons that he set
aside at distance 1 of 1 objective token.

| Then remove all objective tokens. The ship

can be deployed overlapping squadrons;
the first player places those squadrons
as though the ship had overlapped them
while executing a maneuver.

If the second player does not deploy, he

may move each objective token to within
distance 1 of its current position.

SETUP: After deploying fleets, assign 1
objective token to each ship.

SpeciaL RULE: The first time a ship performs
an attack against another ship, discard the
attacker’s objective token. If the attacker
belongs to the first player, he adds 2 red
dice to the attack pool. If the attacker
belongs to the second player, he adds 2
dice, each of any color, to the attack pool.

Enp oF GAME: Each player increases his
final score by half the fleet point cost of
each enemy ship in the play area that has
at least 1 damage card, rounded up.

the highest total number of dice in his

FirRe LANES

If only a portion of a hull zone’s armament
is at attack range of an objective token,
only that portion is added to the sum.

A hull zone can add only its current
battery armament to the sum, including
increases and decreases due to cards like
“Enhanced Armament.” Do not include
dice granted after an attack would be
rolled, such as from the Concentrate Fire
command or the “Dominator” title.

FLEET AMBUSH

The first player can deploy squadrons
within distance 1-2 of a ship inside
the ambush zone.

HyPERSPACE ASSAULT

Ships and squadrons set aside are not
in play. Their abilities and upgrades are
inactive and they cannot be affected by
any abilities.

When a squadron that was set aside is
deployed, set its activation slider to display
the same color as the initiative token.

During setup, if the second player must
deploy a squadron but cannot because he
has no ships in the play area, his squadrons
that are not set aside are destroyed.

The second player cannot move objective
tokens at the start of the first round.

OPENING SALVOD

The dice added by this card effect

are added to the attack pool after

the attack pool is rolled. The second
player’s added dice can be of any color
regardless of the range of the attack.

A ship’s fleet point cost includes the
costs of all upgrade cards equipped to
that ship.

«AnmIRAL CHIRANEAU

@: Squadrons that you
activate can move even if
they are engaged. When
an engaged squadron
moves in this way, treat it
as having a printed speed
of “2."

F
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«AomiraL Mot

The hull value of each
friendly ship is increased

A according to its size class:

Small ship: 1
Medium ship: 2
Large ship: 3

Once per activation,
when a friendly ship is

# attacking, it may spend 1

die to change a die to a
face with a & icon

Buack 3: Each hull

zone adjacent to the

defending hull zone
suffers 1 damage.

o DemoLISHER

During your activation,
you can perform 1 of
your attacks after you
execute a maneuver.

P
Viviw

| While attacking at close—

medium range, you may
spend up to 3 shields
from any of your hull
zones to add that number
of blue dice to your
attack pool.

AomiRAL CHIRANEAU

If a ship has Corruptor and Admiral
Chiraneau equipped, engaged squadrons with
bomber that it activates have a speed of “3.”

AomiraL MortTi

If a ship’s hull value becomes equal to the
amount of damage cards it has as a result

of losing Admiral Motti’s effect, that ship is
destroyed.

ADMIRAL SCREED

Screed can change a black die to the face that
contains both a # icon and a ¥ icon.

AssauLt Concussion MissILES

The damage caused by this card cannot be
reduced by the €¥ defense token.

DEMOLISHER

If Demolisher is equipped with Engine Teches, it
can perform one of its attacks after it executes
the maneuver granted by Engine Techs.

Demolisher only affects one of the ship’s
attacks. It must perform its other attack
during the Attack step of its activation or that
attack is forfeited.

DominaTor

If this ship spends two shields, it may take
both from the same hull zone or one each
from two different hull zones.




W ia

|

@: After you execute
amaneuver, you may
exhaust this card to
execute a 1-speed
maneuver.

«Garm BeL LS

At the start of the first
round and the fi
round, each friendly ship
may gain a number of
command tokens equal
to its command value.

The black dice in your
battery armament can be
used at medium range.
This effect applies only
while attacking the rear
hull zone of 4 ship.

ENGINE TECHS

When the ship executes this maneuver, it can
click the first joint of the maneuver tool using
its usual yaw value for the first joint at speed 1.

GArm BEL IBLIS

A ship cannot have more than one copy of
the same command token.

InsiDious

This ship can initiate an attack against the
rear hull zone of an enemy ship at medium
range even if it does not have red or blue
dice in its armament.

2440 IRy

*WuLFF YULAREN

[ While attackin;

, you may
change 1 die face with

#® an & icon to a face with

When you spend a
command token, you
8 may exhaust this card to
gain 1 command token
of the same type.

WaRLoRD

Warlord can change a red die to the face that
contains two * icons.

WOULFF YULAREN

If a ship spends a command token to resolve
a command, it cannot spend the matching
token gained by exhausting Wulff Yularen to
resolve that command or its effect again this
round.



