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This document contains frequently asked questions, rule 
clarifications, and errata for Star Wars: Armada.

E R R ATA
CARDS
Most Wanted
The special rule for the “Most Wanted” objective card should read:

“While a ship is attacking an objective ship, it may add 1 die of 
any color that is already in its attack pool to its attack pool.”

LEARN TO PLAY
Fleet-Building Restrictions, p.21
This section should include the following bullet point:

“A ship cannot equip more than one copy of the same upgrade 
card.”

RULES REFERENCE
Attack, p.2
The second sentence of step 6, “Declare Additional Squadron 
Target,” should read:

“The new defender must be inside the firing arc and at attack 
range of the same attacking hull zone, and the attacker must 
measure line of sight to it as normal.”

Commands, p.4 
This entry should include the following bullet point:

“A ship can resolve a command and choose not to produce its 
effect. It still counts as resolving that command, such as for the 
purpose of triggering upgrade cards.”

Fleet Building, p.6 
This entry should include the following bullet point:

“A ship cannot equip more than one copy of the same upgrade 
card.”
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Measuring Firing Arc and Range, p.7 
This entry should include the following paragraph:

“When measuring attack range for a ship, ignore any portion of 
the defender that is outside the attacking hull zone’s firing arc, 
even if that portion is at a closer range.”

Overlapping, p.8
The last sentence of the first paragraph should read:

“He can place those squadrons in any order, but he cannot 
place them outside the play area.”

Size Class, p.11 
The size of a small ship should read “43mm x 71mm.” The size 
of a medium ship should read “63mm x 102mm.” The size of a 
large ship should read “77.5mm x 129mm.”

FAQ
This section answers frequently asked questions about Star Wars: 
Armada.

SETUP AND FLEET-BUILDING
Q: During fleet-building, how many fleet points can a player 

spend on squadrons?

A: A player can spend up to one third of the fleet point total, 
rounded up. For example, if playing a 200-point game, a fleet 
could contain 67 points of squadrons, even if the total cost of 
that fleet was only 190.

Q: During the “Place Obstacles” step of setup, can the players 
place any combination of six obstacles?

A: No. The players place three asteroid fields, two debris fields, 
and one station.

Q: During the “Deploy Ships” step of setup, can a player set his 
ship’s speed to “0”?

A: No.

ATTACKS
Q: When a ship resolves an ability that allows it to add dice 

to the attack pool, can it add those dice if their color is not 
normally appropriate for the range of the attack?

A: Yes. The range restriction on dice color applies only when 
dice are gathered during the “Roll Attack Dice” step of an 
attack.

Q: If a ship’s attack would not include any dice, but the ship 
can add dice through a card effect, can it perform the 
attack?

A: No. If a ship does not gather any dice during the “Roll Attack 
Dice” step of an attack, the attack is canceled.
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Q: Can a ship spend a defense token even if it would have no 
effect?

A: Yes. For example, a ship can spend a B token and choose an 
adjacent hull zone with no shields remaining.

Q: When measuring line of sight, do the attacker’s hull zones 
block line of sight?

A: No.

Q: Can a ship attack an engaged squadron?

A: Yes.

COMMANDS
Q: When a ship spends a command dial and token of the same 

type, does that count as one resolution of that command?

A: Yes.

Q: If a ship wants to spend a command dial and token of the 
same type, does it have to spend them simultaneously?

A: Yes. It must already have both the dial and token, and must 
spend them together.

Q: Can a ship spend its command dial to gain a command 
token of the same type at any point during its activation?

A: No. It can only do this when it reveals its command dial.

Q: If a ship spends its command dial to gain a command token 
of the same type, can it spend that token later in that round?

A: Yes.

Q: If a ship has a P dial and a P token, can it spend those 
tokens against different targets during the same round?

A: No. A ship cannot resolve each command more than once 
each round.

Q: If a ship spends a P dial and a P token together, can it 
reroll the die that it adds? Is it required to reroll a die?

A: It can reroll the die that it adds, and it can choose not to 
reroll any dice.

MOVEMENT
Q: When a ship executes a maneuver, does it move along the 

maneuver tool?

A: No. The ship is picked up from its starting position and placed 
in its final position. It ignores any obstacles, ships, and 
squadrons that its base does not overlap in its final position.

Q: When a ship executes a maneuver, is it destroyed if part of 
the maneuver tool is outside the play area but the ship itself 
is entirely inside the play area?

A: No.

Q: When a ship overlaps more than one ship, how does a 
player determine which of those ships is closest?

A: The player measures range to the overlapped ship that 
appears to be closer and temporarily marks that measurement 
(such as by holding his thumbnail where the ruler reaches the 
overlapped ship). Retaining that measurement, he measures 
range to the other overlapped ship. If the second range 
measurement is beyond the marked measurement, the first 
ship is closer; otherwise, the second ship is closer.

SQUADRONS
Q: When a squadron activates, is it required to move and/or 

attack?

A: No. A squadron can activate and end its activation without 
moving and/or attacking.

Q: During setup, can a squadron be placed outside the setup 
area as long as it is within distance 1–2 of a friendly ship?

A: No. It may be placed outside of the deployment zone, but not 
outside the setup area.

Q: When a squadron with counter performs its counter attack, 
can it resolve abilities that affect an attack?

A: Yes. A counter attack functions just like a normal attack 
except that the dice gathered for the attack are indicated by 
the squadron’s counter value instead of its anti-squadron 
armament. They can be affected by the swarm keyword, 
Howlrunner’s ability, etc.

Q: How does the squadron keyword bomber work?

A: When a squadron with bomber attacks a ship, it can resolve 
the standard critical effect before totaling damage if it has at 
least one E result. To determine the total damage of an attack 
against a ship, it sums the number of F and E results instead 
of only the F results.
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O: Squadrons that you 
activate can move even if 
they are engaged. When 

an engaged squadron 
moves in this way, treat it 
as having a printed speed 

of “2.”

•AdmirAl chirAneAu
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Admiral Chiraneau
If a ship has Corruptor and Admiral 
Chiraneau equipped, engaged squadrons with 
bomber that it activates have a speed of “3.”
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assaulT concussion 
Missiles

Black E: Each hull  
zone adjacent to the 
defending hull zone 

suffers 1 damage.

7

Assault Concussion Missiles
The damage caused by this card cannot be 
reduced by the C defense token.
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M: After you execute 
a maneuver, you may 
exhaust this card to 
execute a 1-speed 

maneuver.

engine TechS
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Engine Techs
When the ship executes this maneuver, it can 
click the first joint of the maneuver tool using 
its usual yaw value for the first joint at speed 1.
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The black dice in your 
battery armament can be 
used at medium range.  
This effect applies only 
while attacking the rear 

hull zone of a ship.

•inSidiouS
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Insidious
A ship with this card equipped can initiate an 
attack against the rear hull zone of an enemy 
ship at medium range even if it does not have 
red or blue dice in its armament.
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While attacking at close–
medium range, you may 

spend up to 2 shields 
from any of your hull 

zones to add that number 
of blue dice to your 

attack pool.

•doMinaTor
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Dominator
If the ship spends two shields, it may take 
both from the same hull zone or one each 
from two different hull zones.
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Setup: After placing obstacles, the second 
player places 3 objective tokens in the setup 
area beyond distance 4 of both players’ 
edges. Then the first player may move each 
objective token to within distance 1–2 of its 
current position.

end of Round: Each player gains 1 victory 
token for each objective token he controls. 
To determine control of each token, players 
measure attack range and line of sight 
from each of their ships’ hull zones as if 
performing attacks with battery armament 
targeting that objective token. The player 
with the highest total number of dice in his 
combined attack pools controls that token. 
If a player’s ship or squadron overlaps an 
objective token, his opponent controls that 
token; if both players’ ships or squadrons 
overlap the same token, neither player 
controls it.

Fire lAnes

15

Fire Lanes
If only a portion of a hull zone’s armament 
is at attack range of an objective token, 
only that portion is added to the sum.

A hull zone can add only its current 
battery armament to the sum, including 
increases and decreases due to cards like 
“Enhanced Armament.” Do not include 
dice granted after an attack would be 
rolled, such as from the Concentrate Fire 
command or the “Dominator” title.
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Setup: The portion of the setup area that 
is beyond distance 5 of any edge of the 
setup area is the ambuSh zone. Players mark 
the corners of the ambush zone with 
objective tokens.

Players take turns deploying fleets as 
normal, but must deploy all ships before 
deploying any squadrons. The first player 
must deploy ships within the ambush 
zone on his odd-numbered deployment 
turns, starting with his first turn. He cannot 
deploy ships or squadrons overlapping 
obstacles in the ambush zone. After setup 
is complete, he removes all objective 
tokens from the play area.

Fleet AMbush

–

Fleet Ambush
The first player can deploy squadrons 
within distance 1–2 of a ship inside 
the ambush zone.
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Setup: Before deploying fleets, the second 
player sets aside 1 of his small or medium 
ships and up to 3 of his squadrons; he does 
not deploy them during setup. Then he 
places 3 objective tokens in the play area 
beyond distance 3 of both players’ edges.

Special Rule: At the start of any round 
after the first round, the second player can 
deploy the ship and squadrons that he set 
aside at distance 1 of 1 objective token. 
Then remove all objective tokens. The ship 
can be deployed overlapping squadrons; 
the first player places those squadrons 
as though the ship had overlapped them 
while executing a maneuver.

If the second player does not deploy, he 
may move each objective token to within 
distance 1 of its current position.

hyPersPAce AssAult

–

Hyperspace Assault
Ships and squadrons set aside are not 
in play. Their abilities and upgrades are 
inactive and they cannot be affected by 
any abilities.

When a squadron that was set aside is 
deployed, set its activation slider to display 
the same color as the initiative token.

During setup, if the second player must 
deploy a squadron but cannot because he 
has no ships in the play area, his squadrons 
that are not set aside are destroyed.

The second player cannot move objective 
tokens at the start of the first round.
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Setup: After deploying fleets, assign 1 
objective token to each ship.

Special Rule: The first time a ship performs 
an attack against another ship, discard the 
attacker’s objective token. If the attacker 
belongs to the first player, he adds 2 red 
dice to the attack pool. If the attacker 
belongs to the second player, he adds 2 
dice, each of any color, to the attack pool.

end of Game: Each player increases his 
final score by half the fleet point cost of 
each enemy ship in the play area that has 
at least 1 damage card, rounded up.

oPeninG sAlvo

--

Opening Salvo
The dice added by this card effect 
are added to the attack pool after 
the attack pool is rolled. The second 
player’s added dice can be of any color 
regardless of the range of the attack.

A ship’s fleet point cost includes the 
costs of all upgrade cards equipped to 
that ship.

C A R D  C L A R I F I C AT I O N S
This section clarifies individual cards and explains various  
card interactions.

OBJECTIVE CARDS

UPGRADE CARDS
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When you spend a 
command token, you 

may exhaust this card to 
gain 1 command token  

of the same type.

•Wulff Yularen
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Wulff Yularen
If a ship spends a command token to resolve 
a command, it cannot spend the matching 
token gained by exhausting Wulff Yularen to 
resolve that command or its effect again this 
round.


